UPDATE: Pats head coach Bill Belichick announced he will not accept the Presidential Medal of Freedom from President Donald Trump: "The tragic events of last week occurred and the decision has been made not to move forward with the award." Coach Belichick was scheduled to receive the award on Thursday at the White House.



Bill Belichick is set to be presented the Presidential Medal of Freedom by President Trump on Thursday at a White House Ceremony. Because of the events at the Capital last Wednesday, many are encouraging Coach Belichick to turn down the honor based on Trump’s involvement in inciting the riot on the Capital that left 5 people dead and a slew of damage both physically and emotional for those inside the people’s house.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the Nation’s highest civilian honor was first established in 1963 by President John F. Kennedy. It is designed to be awarded to individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the security, national interests of America, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.
Passed recipients that received the honor include President Elect Joe Biden, Ronald Regan, Anthony Fauci, Muhammad Ali, Angela Merkel, Mother Teresa, Rosa Parks, and Martin Luther King, JR. Belichick would be not be the only figure in the sports world that Trump has bestowed the honor. Others that received the Presidential Medal of Freedom from Trump include; Mariano Rivera, Jerry West, Bob Cousy, Tiger Woods, Babe Ruth and a list of others.

Recently President Trump’s acknowledgments have come under fire anointing Rush Limbaugh, Devin Nunes and Jim Jordan with the highest civilian honor. Coach Belichick receiving the metal will be one of the final acts by the outgoing President. The move is being met with a lot of negativity and calls for Belichick to say “thank you but no thanks you” is growing among public figures.

Both Bill Belichick, Robert Kraft and Tom Brady have been linked to supporting Donald Trump and his election campaigns in the past. Dozens of New England Patriots uncomfortable with the affiliation to Trump refused to visit the White House following their last Super Bowl win in 2017. Tom Brady was among the players skipping out on the hamburger and hot dog buffet in 2017.  Over the years the Pats visited the White House during the Bush, Obama and Trump presidencies following their other title wins. At press-time there are no indications that Coach Bill will turn down the opportunity to receive the prestigious award.

WUPE logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

CHECK IT OUT: 100 sports records and the stories behind them

More From WUPE