Fines For Talking On Your Cellphone While Driving May Be Coming
How many of us use your cellphones while you are driving? If everything goes forward and you don't have the means to talk on your phone hands free, you may have to look at buying a phone or a device with hands-free-technology, or if caught, you may be hit with a fine that would begin at $100 and could increase to $500 for multiple offenses.
Massachusetts could soon be a step closer to banning hand-held cellphone use by motorists. The state Senate is expected to take up legislation on Thursday that aims to crack down on distracted drivers who are blamed for thousands of serious crashes in the U.S. each year.
The House passed a similar bill last month. Under the legislation, motorists would only be allowed to use their cellphones with hands-free technology. Those rules already are in effect in the neighboring states of Connecticut, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont.